The Town Council's offices are located in the Town Hall, Erme Court, Leonards Road, Ivybridge; tel 01752 893815; fax 01752 896488; e-mail; web address; personal visitors are welcome to call into both the Town Hall and into the town's Information Centre located in The Watermark nearby.

There are three tiers of local government with areas of responsibility in Ivybridge - Devon County Council, South Hams District Council and Ivybridge Town Council. Ivybridge is divided into 3 different wards: Central, Filham and Woodlands. The Town Council comprises 15 elected members - 6 each for Filham and Woodlands and 3 for Central - who work for the town in a voluntary capacity. The person acting as Town Mayor is elected annually in May, and Town Council elections are held every four years.