Community Awards


At the November Council meeting, the Community Awards were considered, and the Council is delighted to announce this year’s winners.

Ivybridge has many incredible volunteers who do a fantastic job in the town, but we are delighted to announce that The Ivybridge Foodbank and So Social have jointly been chosen to receive The Nick Cummins Community Group of the Year Award, in recognition of the vast amount of support they have provided to local residents. Despite the pandemic, Foodbank volunteers have worked tirelessly to support vulnerable people and families in our community who have found themselves in difficult situations. The coffee mornings organised by So Social provide a lifeline to those who are lonely and isolated, and help to signpost them to other groups and services they may benefit from.

Malcolm Smith and Rosa Hansen have been chosen to receive The David Britton Citizen of the Year Award in recognition of all the amazing voluntary work they are both involved with, working hard cutting, pruning, weeding and trimming hedges in order to keep Harry’s Patch looking its best all year round. The extra effort they put in for both the Tour of Britain and Ivybridge in Bloom was noted and received specific praise from the judges and brings joy and pride to the whole community. As if this was not enough, Rosa goes on weekly rubbish collection walks, not just on her own street but all around the town, helping to keep it looking nice and tidy, and Malcolm mans the Poppy Shop for the Royal British Legion in the lead up to Remembrance Sunday.

The continuing selfless endeavours of these volunteers are very much appreciated.

The Town Mayor will be formally presenting the Awards at the Town Council meeting on 13 December 2021.